Handmade Ornaments Stuffed With Love

ORN TITLE

It’s looking a lot like Christmas in our house now. I love it when this time of year comes. The reds, greens, gold, the lights. They fall right into place like no other time. It instantly makes me think of the people we love and how we can remind them that they are special to us. The downside is, I cannot deny the pressure of thinking of what to give, scrambling for gifts, shopping, baking, wrapping, and the inevitable… an empty wallet. Alas! It’s enough to give one a nervous breakdown! But not me. Not this time. We’re going handmade, friends!

I found this lovely, lovely handmade monogrammed ornament tutorial by Dana of MADE. It’s just made of some felt, fluff and thread. So simple, so classic, so easy to make, and the colors are adorable! And who can resist the monogram?

ORN10 It just adds a that personal touch. When I saw it, it sealed the deal for me. I can do this. This is what we’re giving out this year!

I started out with ours.ORN6 copy

Then I decided to make some for my siblings and their family. I would sew before sleeping at night, at my son’s soccer practice, while watching TV, while my son finishes his food at the table, in between school pick-ups, everywhere.

ORN1

I found myself thinking of the person for whom I was sewing the ornament. Would she like blue? I think his favorite color is yellow. No orange. But she always wears blue. He will want a star. A red star. But his wife will want the star…. etc, etc. Wait a minute. This is not funny. We have so many friends and family!

ORN2

Before I knew it, BOOM! I filled up a basket full of these. Hey! Doesn’t this remind you of something  yummy?

ORN9

I can’t believe I made so many, but I loved every moment of it. It felt (no pun intended) good to spend some time thinking of each person as I stitched their initial.ORN3

Now that I have completed this project, my family will gather together to pray for each one before we give them out. So this ornament is not only stuffed with fluff, but also stuffed with a lot of thought, love, and prayer. If you receive this from our family this Christmas, you will know your blessing. : )

Thanks for stopping by today. Enjoy!

A

P.S. Thank you Dana for such a wonderful gift idea and super easy tutorial!

2 thoughts on “Handmade Ornaments Stuffed With Love

Comment here...

