My First Ever Sewing Project

You know how it is when you want to learn a new skill that no one else knows among your small and tight circle of influence, and you want to do it so quietly so you can impress them with a bang? That was the idea. : ) So nothing too complicated, but something that’s got to have the wow factor. I chose sewing.

I have to tell you that I had not been introduced to the sewing machine before, so I was clueless and was mostly just staring at it in the beginning. Sewing was an elective in high school and I had chosen cooking at the time. All I knew were some amateurish hand sewing skills for mending holes or hemming that my Mom had taught me when I was a kid.

So I did some research and came across Burda Style. I thought, “This is ambitious.” But I saw some really easy projects, and nice. I got excited at the thought of sewing my own stuff! So I borrowed a friend’s old sewing machine that had not seen the light of day in ages. I looked for a free pattern that was for a novice and landed this really cute reusable grocery bag they call the Charlie Bag. I said to myself, “I can do that!” So after checking some youtube tutorials on how to make the machine run (this one didn’t come with a manual), and after buying my first yard of fabric (ayayay it was so expensive, but never mind, I just wanna do this), I was good to go!

I wish I had documented my step-by-step process, but I didn’t have this blog yet at the time. And I had to concentrate! It took me 2 days to make this, would you believe? I messed up a lot, it’s embarrassing, but I was able to hack the tutorial on Burda Style (you can download the pattern and instructions for FREE — yay!).

Here’s the finished product… my Charlie Bag!

I’ll bet you’re saying, “Okaaayyy… what is it?” because that’s what my boys and my friends said. Well, check this out!

TADAAAHHHH!!!

Look at my stitches…. ewww! But that’s okay, right?

What do you think?I think I’m hooked!

One thought on “My First Ever Sewing Project

  1. Pingback: Chinese Jackstone Revisited |

Comment here...

