Grilled Chicken Pesto (Super Easy)

I find myself cooking more than baking these days, which is so not me. I’d rather bake in the oven rather than cook on top of it, really… EXCEPT on those few occasions when an executive chef like my dear friend Myrna Prats coaches me with a SUPER EASY dish that won’t get me smelling like onions. We just had this for dinner last night and I have to tell you, it was deeelish!!! I’m not a trained chef (why, I don’t even like cooking!), so please forgive my sloppy work. I’m sure Tita Myrna will give me a failing mark if I was her student! Hahaha. But I got major thumbs up from my boys, and that’s all that matters, right? Let me share with you her not-so-secret Grilled Chicken Pesto.

Here’s what you need:

  • 1 kilo (2 lbs) Chicken Breast Fillet
  • Salt and Pepper
  • White Wine
  • 1/4 cup Yogurt
  • 1/2 cup Pesto
  • 1/2 c Toasted Walnuts or Almonds (coarsely chopped)
  • A Griller
For the White Sauce:
  • 10g Butter (a little less than 1 Tbsp)
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp All Purpose Flour
  • 3/4 – 1 Cup Fresh Milk
  • 125g All Purpose Cream
  • 2 Tbsp White Wine
  • 1 Tbsp Parmesan Cheese
Now for the White Sauce. You will need:
Mix well until smooth and sauce has thickened.
Now let’s try a bit of artsy plating that Tita Myrna taught me how to do…
Not bad eh? : )
Oh man. They look more like bird droppings than pesto dots! Hahaha! The idea was 3 or 5 circles increasing in size (or decreasing, whichever). I should’ve used a piping thingamajig… oh never mind. They were divine when they mixed with the white sauce!
You’re supposed to drizzle the coarsely chopped nuts on top of the chicken here, but I totally forgot about them. I was too preoccupied with the pesto dots! Hahaha. Anyway, serve with hot rice or pasta. YUMMY!!!
Enjoy!
A
P.S. I didn’t smell like onions after cooking, but I sure smelled like a grilled chicken! : )
2 thoughts on “Grilled Chicken Pesto (Super Easy)

Comment here...

